All posts by Diode

JCHC Holds Annual Meeting


FAIRBURY – The Jefferson Community Health Center Board of Directors held the organization’s annual membership meeting on Monday, Jan. 13.

New board members elected were Brian Blobaum, Linda Bauer, and Dr. Ted Tucker. They replace board members Julie Knigge and Ryan Parker, who each served a four-year term on the board; and Dr. Craig Shumard, who served two four-year terms.

Board members are elected from among the membership of the Jefferson Community Health Center corporation. Anyone who has donated a cumulative $100 becomes a member of the corporation and is eligible to serve on the board, attend annual meetings, and participate in the election of board members.

2013 Board Chairman Dick Hoppe thanked the administration, staff, board members, and physicians for their work.

“On behalf of the board of directors, I want to convey our appreciation for the diligent and faithful service each department provides this institution,” Hoppe said. “I want to thank the administration, department heads and hospital staff for their effort and contribution to this organization.”

Hoppe pointed out that there were many projects and successes during 2013, which were outlined in a report from Chad Jurgens, chief executive officer. The report was sent to all members of the corporation prior to the annual meeting.

Chance Klasek, chief financial officer, reported the operating margin for fiscal 2013 (Oct. 1, 2012, through Sept. 30, 2013) was -0.39 percent. This was down from the past few years, largely because of decreases in patient revenues and investment income.

“As we move into 2014 every effort will be made to resume a positive trend,” Hoppe said. “However, success for JCHC is not measured by dollars alone. The entire staff continues to provide the best care possible for this community. The hospital is fundamentally sound operationally and financially.”

At the regular board meeting which followed the annual meeting, officers were elected for 2014. Officers are: Dick Hoppe, chairman; Brian Scheele, vice chairman; and Lymon Hamm, secretary-treasurer.